For the Democratic Party, endorsements for state and federal races are done at the state party level, whereas endorsements for county and municipal races are done at the county level. A candidate achieves the endorsement by reaching the threshold of 60% of the participating delegates/members. The Democratic Party’s current endorsements for the 2018 General Election are below.

U.S. Senate*⎯Kevin De Leon, Dianne Feinstein
Congressional District 4—Jessica Morse
Congressional District 16—Jim Costa
Congressional District 21—T.J. Cox
Congressional District 22—Andrew Janz

Governor⎯Gavin Newsom
Lt. Governor*⎯Ed Hernandez, Eleni Kounalakis
Attorney General⎯Xavier Becerra
Secretary of State—Alex Padilla
State Controller—Betty Yee
State Treasurer—Fiona Ma
State Insurance Commissioner—Ricardo Lara
State Superintendent of Public Instruction—Tony Thurmond
State Senate District 8—Paulina Miranda
State Senate District 12—Anna Caballero
State Senate District 14—Melissa Hurtado
Assembly District 23—Aileen Rizo
Assembly District 23—Joaquin Arambula

Auditor-Controller/Treasurer-Tax Collector—Oscar Garcia
Fresno City Council District 3**⎯Miguel Arias, Tate Hill
Fresno City Council District 5—Luis Chavez
Fresno City Council District 7—Nelson Esparza

Many more races will be on the November ballot including those for city councils, education boards, and special district boards throughout Fresno County. Filing for those races runs from July 16 to Aug. 10. The Fresno County Democratic Party will consider endorsements for those races in August after the end of the filing period.

For more information on the endorsed candidates and their campaigns, contact the Fresno County Democratic Party HQ at (559) 495-0606 or fresnocountydemocrats@yahoo.com.

*Both candidates are registered Democrats, and the state party has not yet endorsed in this race.
**Both candidates are registered Democrats. A third Democrat, Daren Miller, has requested a recount in this race. The county party will revisit an endorsement in this race in August.